Forsterling, Rosholt set for Palmer cut

VANDŒUVRES, Switzerland – Sun Devil Women’s Golf Alexandra Forsterling and Calynne Rosholt will compete alongside Sun Devil Men’s Golf’s James Leow and Josele Ballester at the 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup, which will take place from July 1-3 at the Golf Club de Genève in Geneva.

The action begins tomorrow, with the Mixed Four-Ball session kicking off in the morning. Alexandra Forsterling is paired with Texas Tech’s Ludivg Aberg, taking on Texas A&M’s Sam Bennett and Duke’s Erica Shepherd in a four-ball match that begins at 1:30 a.m. MST (8:30 a.m. local time). Later in the day, Calynne Rosholt teamed with Vanderbilt’s Cole Sherwood when they take on Florida’s Fred Biondi and Alabama’s Benedetta Moresco at 3:00 a.m. MST (10:00 a.m. local). This is the first of three days of matches between the international and American teams.

For the fifth consecutive year, Sun Devil Golf will be represented at the premier international amateur event featuring only collegiate golfers. This time, both the men’s and women’s programs will send several participants to participate in the first ever Palmer Cup in Switzerland.

“We are delighted to have two great Sun Devils on the Palmer Cup International team along with their male teammates James and Josele,” said the Sun Devil Women’s Golf Head Coach. Missy Farr Kaye noticed. “It’s a great achievement for both programs. To have Alexandra and Calynne on the team as ranking selections is very special.”

The top six golfers in the final Palmer Cup standings from the United States and International Men’s and Women’s automatically qualified for selection. The rest of the field was determined by the Palmer Cup Committee, with a total of 24 golfers named to each team. They will compete in the international Ryder Cup-style collegiate event between the United States and the international team.

Alexandra Forsterling was one of six women’s international selections, finishing No. 1 in the final Palmer Cup International standings. Calynne Rosholt was one of six women’s USA selections, finishing No. 5 in the final US Palmer Cup standings. James Leow will be Singapore’s first contender, earning a spot on the International Team as a Coach’s Choice, chosen by Cal Poly and International Team Head Coach Phil Rowe. Josele Ballester was the newest addition to the pitch after putting the finishing touches to a formidable first-year campaign.

Rosholt joins Jeff Quinney (2001) of men’s golf as the only Sun Devils to be selected to Team USA, with both programs known for their ability to attract and develop international golfers.

Here’s a preview of tomorrow’s matches:

Round 1 – Four-Ball Mixed Pairs

8:30 am
Sam Bennett/Erica Shepherd (USA) vs. Ludvig Åberg/Alexandra Forsterling (International)

8:45 am
Antonia Malate/Dylan Menante (USA) against Adrien Dumont de Chassart/Ashley Lau (International)

Latanna Stone/Travis Vick (USA) vs. Frederik Kjettrup/Aline Krauter (International)

9:15 a.m.
Jake Doggett/Anna Morgan (USA) vs. Kajsa Arwefjäll/Albin Bergstrom (International)

9:30 a.m.
Gurleen Kaur/Walker Lee (USA) vs. Mateo Fernández de Oliveria/Julia Lopez Ramirez (International)

9:45 a.m.
Michael Brennan/Rachel Kuehn (USA) vs. Josele Ballester/Caroline Chacarra (International)

10:00 a.m.

Calynne Rosholt/Cole Sherwood (USA) vs. Fred Biondi/Benedetta Moresco (International)

10:15 a.m.
Johnny Keefer/Olivia Mitchell (USA) vs. Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen/Chiara Tamburlini (International)

10:30 a.m.
Palmer Jackson/Brooke Seay (USA) vs. David Kitt/Lorna McClymont (International)

10:45 a.m.
Nick Gabrelcik/Rachel Heck (USA) vs. Archie Davies/Amelia Williamson (International)

Amari Avery/Gordon Sargent (USA) vs. James Leow/Hsin-Yu Lu (international)

11:15 a.m.
Michael Thorbjornsen/Rose Zhange (USA) vs. Christo Lamprecht/Heather Lin (International)

In the 2020 Palmer Cup, Sun Devil Women’s Golf’s Linn Grant and Olivia Mehaffey with Team International won the victory in the 24e edition of the Arnold Palmer Cup, beating Team USA by a final tally of 40.5-19.5.

The international team took 14 of the 24 points up for grabs in the final day’s singles matches to seal victory. The victory cuts the United States’ all-time lead in the series to 12-11-1. This is the second consecutive victory for the international team on American grass.

Grant (Sweden) and Mehaffey (Ireland) were the main contributors to the win, with their consistent play helping the international team maintain a healthy lead throughout the tournament. After taking a 9-3 lead after the Mixed Fourball competition on day one, the international team never looked back, claiming victory at Arnold Palmer Bay Hill Club and Lodge. Sun Devil Men’s Golf David Puig (Spain) was also part of the winning international team.


Alexandra Forsterling (2022)

Calynne Rosholt (2022)
Josele Ballester (2022)

James Leow (2022)
Linn Grant

David Puig (2020 & 2021)

Olivia Mehaffey (2018 & 2020)

Chun An Yu (2019)
Alex Del Rey (2019)
Jon Rahm (2014 and 2015)
Max Rotluff (2015)
Jesper Kennegard (2010)
James Byrne (2010)
Stephan Gross (2009)
Alejandro Canizares (2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006)
Jeff Quiney (2001)

The Arnold Palmer Cup was co-founded by Arnold Palmer and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) and began at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge, Orlando, Florida in 1997. The event is a Ryder Cup-style tournament with the les top male and female university/college golfers competing against the United States against a team of international players. The Palmer Cup has been contested on some of the greatest courses in the world including The Old Course at St. Andrews, The Royal County Down, Royal Portrush, Baltusrol, The Honors Course and Cherry Hills. Since the 2018 matches at the Evian Resort Golf Club, the Arnold Palmer Cup is the only major tournament where men and women play side by side as partners.

Since its inception, more than 125 former Arnold Palmer Cup alumni have won cards on the PGA, European or LPGA Tours; 32 have represented Europe or the United States in the Ryder Cup, Presidents Cup or Solheim Cup and more than 65 have won more than 285 victories on the PGA, European or LPGA Tours, including three major champions in 2020 and 2021 .leads the Palmer Cup series 13-11-1.


Founded in 1922, the Golf Club de Genève offers a course designed in 1973 by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. and completely renovated by his son Robert Trent Jones, Jr. in 2018. A par 72 which is played over 6,821 meters, the course offers views of the city, Lake Geneva, the iconic Mont Blanc and the surrounding Alps. Since 1989, this inspiring setting has hosted the Rolex Challenge Tour Trophy, a prize won by three Palmer Cup alumni: Alex Norén, Nacho Elvira and Pedro Oriol. The club also hosted the 1975 European Junior Championship, the 1982 Espirito Santo Trophy and several Swiss international matches.

Arnold Palmer Cup social media will be covering the event on Twitter and Instagram (@ArnoldPalmerCup) as well as on their Facebook ( For the latest Sun Devil Women’s Golf program updates and information, follow our Twitter/Instagram accounts (@SunDevilWGolf), like our Facebook page ( and visit our website (