Arizona Republic’s 2019-20 All-Arizona Women’s Wrestling Team

Here are the top eight wrestlers in the state along with 10 honorable mentions and Coach of the Year picks selected by the Arizona Republic from Arizona’s eight high school girls wrestling sections.

Taliyah Armstrong, Mesa Westwood, So.

One of the top sophomores in the state, Armstrong won titles in the 145 at Section V and state tournaments, finished second in the Flowing Wells Invitational and went 28-5. She had 24 pins and is the first girl in Westwood school history to win a wrestling title.

Camry Carter, Queen Creek Casteel, So.

Was 19-1 in the 135 and won multiple tournaments including the Perry Jamboree, Quest for Crown, Casteel Count Line Tussle, Doc Wright, Anthony Robles invitationals and Section V State Tournament Qualifiers. Carter also finished third in weight at the state tournament.

Mia Didur, centenarian of Peoria, Sr.

She capped off her high school career by winning back-to-back state titles in the girls 185 weight class. Didur was a perfect 27-0 dueling last season. She placed first in the Flowing Wells, Moon Valley, Officer Brad Jones Invitational and Section VI state qualifying tournaments.

Stefana Jelacic, Chandler, Sr.

After winning the 2019 Women’s Wrestling State Title at 118lbs, Jelacic only competed in the Division I boys 113 weight class this season and had a stellar record of 24-10. She accomplished a rare feat for a female wrestler in state history by placing second in the Division I Section I Boys State Tournament.

Thank you for subscribing. This premium content is made possible through your continued support of local journalism.

Angie Ochoa, Phoenix Maryvale, Jr.

Had an unblemished 19-0 record and pinned all of his opponents in the State Tournament to win the 160 weight class title and also won the Section II title.

Erica Pastoriza, Glendale Raymond Kellis, P.

Pastoriza has competed against girl and boy wrestlers and had respective records of 22-3 and 17-1 against each gender in the 101 weight class last season. She posted nine pins, 11 techs, 68 eliminations, won twice by major decision, had 48 near misses, and edged female opponents, 192-26. Against the Boys, she had six pins, a major decision victory, 11 eliminations, nine near-drop points and outscored her opponents, 44-9. She was also named Freshman Outstanding Wrestler at the Tolleson All-Girls Wrestling Classic.

Emily Porras, Glendale Ironwood, So.

She went undefeated at 22-0 and won the 101 Girls State Title. Porras had 17 pins, four technical falls, defeated Pastoriza for her second straight Section VI title in their weight, earned the Eagle Invitational and Moon Valley Invitational titles, and was honored as Outstanding Wrestler in both tournaments.

Sierra Thrun, Tempe Corona del Sol, Jr.

Finished the season with an undefeated record of 13-0, eight pins, including one to capture his second consecutive 110 title. Thrun also won 110 at the Moon Valley Invitational and allowed only one offensive point the entire season.

Honorable Mention

Caroline Moreno, Yuma Kofa

Undefeated at 27-0 to tie Didur for most wins for Arizona high school girls this season and won the 125-state title.

Adacelli Noriega, Bisbee

Among five undefeated girls this season across the state, posting a 21-0 record and winning the 118-state title and Section III tournament title at that weight.

Bree Garcia, Phoenix Barry Goldwater, So.

Went 25-1 this season and won the state title in the 130 as well as the Section VII tournament.

Isabelle Munoz, Queen Creek Casteel, P.

Reached second place in a tough 118 State Tournament title match in which Munoz lost in a major 14-11 decision to Noriega. Munoz finished the season with a 31-3 record and won Section V, came first for the 120 Anthony Robles Invitational title.

Trinity Howard, Chandler Basha, So.

Finished the season with an 18-2 record, won the 127-pound title at the Anthony Robles Invitational and the Section V title in the 125. Howard also placed third in the 125 at the state tournament.

Nina Sandoval, Gilbert Campo Verde, So.

Had a 15-3 record and finished first in the 162 weight Anthony Robles Invitational and came in third for the 160 state tournament bracket.

Sara Schmoker, Peoria Liberty, Jr.

Won 135 weight of Section VI tournament, finished season 15-1 after losing to Buckeye Odyssey Institute’s Genesis Higuera by major 8-4 decision in state tournament.

Jasmine Jacquay, Tombstone, Sr.

Was 15-2, won the Section III title in the 185 and came in second place in the state tournament after being pinned by Didur.

Mylei Siegla, Canyon del Oro, So.

Had the most wins in Arizona High School Girl Wrestling this season at 33-1 and lost to Barry Goldwater’s Bree Garcia in the 130weight.

Olivia Bauer, Glendale Ironwood, Jr.

Finished the season with a 31-2 record, was a runner-up for the state title in the 145, and won the Division VI title.

Coach of the year

Sean Flanigan, Glendale Ironwood

Led one of the season’s strongest women’s wrestling teams that produced four state tournament qualifiers. Two of those wrestlers, Emily Porras and Olivia Bauer, went undefeated and finished in second place in their respective weight classes.

How they were selected

The eight nominees for Arizona High School Wrestler of the Year were selected by azcentral athletic high school staff during coverage of the 2019-20 season using first-hand observations, interviews with coaches and players, statistical analysis, rankings and player performance in Arizona. Interscholastic Association State Tournament.

Do you have any advice for us? Contact the reporter at [email protected] or 480-486-4721. Follow his Twitter @iam_DanaScott.